Thursday, April 29, 2010

Cooking

Hello everyone!

I know it's been a while since I blogged.. I think maybe 2 days? That's light years for me, lol. So I apologize for that.

Firstly, I'd like to share with you guys some things I cooked yesterday for my boyfriend and his family... I'd been itching to cook for I don't know how long, and I finally got around to it.

First is the mexican lasagna... I know it sounds weird, but it is DELICIOUS. It's layers of spinach tortillas, four cheeses, and ground beef mixed with black beans, corn, tomatoes, chilli powder, cumin and a pinch of salt and tomato sauce. It's a bit spicy... my hand let go a bit with the chilli powder (what a mistake, I'm very sensitive to spicy things and my nose was running the entire time through dinner) but nonetheless, one of the best dishes I've ever made and everyone went back for seconds and cleaned their plates :)



On the other end, my boyfriend managed to make an amazing guacamole.. I have no idea what he put in there or what the measurements were, since he always eyeballs it, but it was great.



And of course, I can't leave out dessert... that's my favorite entree!! (although now its competing with the main course, lol). I decided to do something very simple... angel food cake with tapioca pudding filling and sliced bananas and fresh strawberries on top :)



Anyway, besides that, there's not much new... I've managed to gain 5 pounds in the last semester, which really upsets me, but no worries! I will be working out (in fact, I'm going running in just a minute) and will be eating as healthy as possible (although I know that's going to be difficult).

BUT.

I have my one week vacation in Punta Cana at an all inclusive resort... yes! All inclusive!!! Drinks poolside, chocolate chip cookies in the middle of the night, icecream for breakfast... oh yes, what an amazing time... and to boot, tanning all day long!

Well, gotta go.. gotta go run.

<3

Monday, April 26, 2010

Housewife Material




Check out the new layout of my room!!

And of course, my cat being absolutely lazy while watching me do all the work, lol...

I decided to clean up today after work, which is odd because usually I get home from work and am way too tired to do anything. But today was an exception, and I'm quite happy with it :) I deep cleaned everything... I won't horror you with the atrocities I found (dust bunnies galore) since I hadn't thoroughly cleaned everything in... well, let's just say about 4-5 years. I know, I know... but then again, I was a teenager in high school with no intention of cleaning ANYTHING and dirtying everything, so go figure :)

Well, that was the end result. I like how it came out... I like that my bed is next to my window now. The sun comes in and illuminates my bed (I was feeling trapped the way my room was before, and so dark since I chose red and gold as my colors in my darkened days when I made my room). I can also open my window and just gaze out from my second story at the world below me... or rather, the tons of trees in my backyard that my grandmother tends to. My cat seems to love it as well, since he likes to be by the window and look out (he's a house cat, so I'm sure he dreams a lot about being outside).

Now that I'm done though, I feel like cooking up a nice lunch or dinner... I think that in another life, I must have been a housewife. Honestly. I enjoy cleaning and laundry and cooking (most of all!). It doesn't bother me to pick up after someone else, especially those I love, and organize their things. I organize my boyfriends room every time I go over (he often has clothes laying around from the washer that he hasn't bothered to put away) and it doesn't phase me... in fact, sometimes I look forward to it. Cleaning is my one escape from when I'm mad. When I'm upset, I clean.

No, seriously.

You have to try it. Clean when you're upset and you'll see how quickly the anger fades away into happiness... I think it must have to do with manual labor and the good feeling it brings you. They say the happiest people work with their hands, so maybe that's where it stems from.

So yes, I'd like to go find something to cook and to serve to my boyfriend so he can eat, but he has school after work and then is going to go celebrate with his best friend for graduating this semester... unfortunately he still has some time ahead of him, but as long as he perseveres and passes his classes and gets his degree, I'll be happy. I mean, he's already a manager and making some good money, but a degree is essential, especially if he wants to move up in ranks like he says he does.

So I can't cook for him, and I'm not going to cook only for myself, and my family certainly doesn't want me to do anything with them. I got into a huge fight with them over the weekend and basically slept at my boyfriends (well, in his bed while he slept in his sisters room who was away) so I wouldn't have to be home. I'm tired of being treated like a little girl when I am an adult already... I'm tired of being told who can or cannot be my friends, getting bitched at because I spend too much time or too little time (yes, TOO LITTLE) with my boyfriend, that I'm not making good enough grades if it's not an A... Really, i'm just sick of it all. And to top it off, I just want my own place. I think I was born to be independent... I've never been much of daddy's little girl status... I got a job when I was still in high school, taking AP credits, examining through the SAT, ACT, applying to colleges and the everyday stress of life, and I enjoyed it. Making my own money is one of the best things, because then I could go out without having to ask my parents, and I just hate depending on people. So, to say the least, I want to move out, but no money... I start nursing school in August and can't work, and without a steady, very good salary, I'm fucked.

There's always the option of moving in with my boyfriend, but 1. I don't want to put him in that situation where he basically takes care of me, and 2. I would really like to wait until marriage to be living together. So... either I'm stuck here for another year and a half, or I take out a humongous loan and get myself into a lot of debt to have my own apartment... of which, the latter bothers me because it means I'll already be in debt when I get married, and I really don't want that, although I know I could pay it off in no time... I'd really like to start my marriage pretty rich before the ordeal of kids comes and I'm robbed of all possible allowance to myself, lol.

So yep, those are the thoughts running through my head. I wish I could've been decorating my own place today, but instead I have to make do with changing my current living situation and picturing the day when I get to move into my own place (or with my then husband) in about two years or so.

Have a good day wherever you are!

Friday, April 23, 2010

Progress

I am SPENT.

Well, considering I spent my day yesterday lazily lounging around (besides a load of laundry and some blood work I had to go do), I'm definitely tired lol. Thank goodness I got almost 12 hours of sleep, I had to work an 8 hour shift today (originally 6 hour, but I had to stay for unprecedented reasons) and then just finished fulfilling my promise to myself to run a mile with my dog when I got home. Needless to say, my legs are already sore, and tomorrow night I will be going to dance my not so little hiney off at the club with my boyfriend and some friends, more than likely in a pair of heels, so I know that come Sunday my legs are just not going to cooperate when I tell them to go up my stairs! Lol.

But at least I'm keeping up with my promise to work out over the summer and get an amazing body. My boyfriend told me last night that he's going to get me my new bathing suit for our trip to Punta Cana this summer... Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you guys!! Well, we had been planning to go to the DR ever since he went about 3 years ago when we first met, and it is finally happening :) We're going to an all inclusive (the same hotel he stayed at), and I plan on living that week up like never before!! None of my family is going, and his family is amazing with me, so I know that I will have a super good time :)

So yes, new bathing suit = motive to get in shape, even when my legs are hurting and are on fire lol. I'm trying to cut back on fattening things (very hard when you work at Starbucks) and eat more protein... but as any good person knows, unless you work out, the extra protein will just turn into fat, so I have to push myself in keeping my eating and my exercise going.

In other news, I'm almost done with the second novel that I bought in the Boston airport... I'm kind of sad, since this is the last novel I have and can't afford another one for at least another two weeks, so I suppose I'll have to make do with fixing my room. Next week is deep cleaning / shifting furniture week, so I know that it will be fun. It's also my gyno appointment, and getting my boyfriend squared away with school time, and more hours at work time, so at least I will be busy :)

Alrighty, well, I'm going to go vegetate, possibly read, and maybe go out for the first Friday in a couple of weeks lol.

<3

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Summer 2010 is here!

So, my finals are finally over. I took all of them yesterday, and even helped my boyfriend study through (and basically teach) a whole chapter and a half for his math exam today. I'm really hoping he does well... we didn't get through all of it, but I feel like we got through enough for him to pass the exam, which is my concern right now. I'm going to pray that he reviews before he goes in and that everything goes well and clicks in his head lol. I, on the other hand, am still on an agenda, lol! School is over, and yet I still have an agenda, go figure. I went to visit my neuro for a post-op from my gamma knife surgery and I need to do blood work (which I already signed myself up for tomorrow) and another MRI to see where the tumor is at in 2 months... I already got all of that squared away and taken care of, written in ink in my planner, so thank goodness.

In other news, I have decided that next week, in-between working and exercising, I will change my room. I'm going to drag out my furniture, DEEP clean, and change the way things are in my room. I don't like the layout anymore, and it's time that things change. Fung shei, if you will... I think I spelled that wrong.

I am also going to scrapbook the gazillion and one memories (including tickets, brochures, hotel cards, etc) that me and my boyfriend have... I was supposed to be buying the stuff right now, but seeing as how I just realized my bank account is at .40 cents and I don't get paid until tomorrow, it's going to have to wait, lol. Speaking of money, I just finished looking up the potential account that me and my boyfriend can open up together and I love the idea of putting in money and it just doubling in amount in there, especially if we put it in a CD... so, let's see what happens. We have to go to the bank sometimes this week or next week more than likely to work it all out.

Umm... besides that, I will be reading my book and working out because I desperately need to get a hold of my body... it is running away with a lot of fat stored in it. I mean, I'm exaggerating, I think I've only gained 5 pounds, but I still don't like it and I would like to be fit, especially before start nursing school. Lord knows how many pounds of sick person I will be lifting in my clinicals... have to be prepared for that.

Anywho, I'm going to get going and take a nap before I go running later today. Hopefully I wake up to an email that I've passed by classes, have sold my textbooks for more than what the university will give me, and a lovely call from my boyfriend :)

<3

Monday, April 19, 2010

Taking a break...

Tedious tedious work!!

I'm studying for all 3 of my finals which are tomorrow, of which I can only really study for my anatomy and forensics because there is study material... chemistry is the "know your shit, dont know the type of questions" kind of exam, and it SUCKS because it's cumulative. May I just say that I really don't give a FUCK about whats going on at the molecular level when I ingest a lovely piece of icecream full of glucose molecules and what catalysts are used to turn it into pyruvates... really, I could care less. It tastes good, thats all the matters to me. I'm sure as a nurse, no patient will be asking me what molecules are in their IV solutions... many won't even know what a molecule is...

Anyway, so yes, I took a break for myself :) I told myself 2 hours ago I'd allow myself the luxury of blogging if I studied for a good 2 hours.. Go me, I reviewed my anatomy and my forensics and got through 6/12 chapter problems for chemistry.. hooray!! I feel accomplished. Now when I get back, I'm going to review my first two chem exams, look over my anatomy notes once again, and get to bed. I have to be up in 6 hours for my anatomy final (hooray) and then studying for my forensics / chemistry, and rush to drive to north campus in casa del carajo (sorry, thats spanish for butt fucking egypt) to take the exam.

AND.

As if that is not enough to end my semester with a bang, I need to go help my boyfriend study for his math exam that he has on Wends, but that I feel is a MUST, so I will go with no complaints. I really want him to pass that class... I even went over the material while writing the review he's going to do tomorrow so I can know what to teach him in case he gets lost, so hopefully that goes well and he does good. He got through only half of the review I did for him last time and told me he felt pretty confident on his exam, so hopefully it's better news this time that he'll get through the whole review before he goes to the exam.

Speaking of which, I got a lovely little interlude with him inbetween my day of studying today :) Thank goodness for those, otherwise I'd be in a horrible mood, lol. I'm still in a crappy mood because I wish I was sleeping, but at least it's better than not having the interlude :p

I should get back to studying, it's been 10 minutes since I stopped, but jeez, it feels like 2 :( I just want to go to sleep, but I know I need to review.

I love how I end up talking to myself in these things... its comforting, but its odd at the same time lol. I wish I had my boyfriend next to me... I could poke him and bother him so we'd start a little fight war and that'd wake me up for another good 20 minutes to get me going through the last review session for the night lol. Ah well... gotta wait another 2 years for that :(

Okay, okay. I'm turning back to my books, with hopes and dreams for the rest of this week when I can clean my room and change the layout, start on my new novel, and scrapbook old memories... yesss... summerrr... here I come!!

After tomorrow of course.

-.-

Stupid classes.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Integrity

Ah... I think that we seriously need to reevaluate how the world is running on everything electronic.

My boyfriend just called me saying that his credit card number was stolen and 2000 dollars in charges were rung up in Brooklyn, N.Y.C. while he's been down here working his ass off. I'm incredibly mad.. I don't know if it happened while up there in Boston, or if his number was stolen down here even... but I'm just pissed off that somebody has the audacity to be stealing numbers like that and going around making charges with money that doesn't belong to them. I can't imagine stealing anything... I myself handle money at my job, and wonder how a certain ex-employee of ours could just steal money without feeling any kind of regret for the people he was stealing the money from (because its tip money I'm handling). I think about bills that people are paying, the spouses and kids they're supporting, the school they have to pay, and the fact that it's not a moral act. I don't know... I would never be able to do something like that without striking myself down first.

Any way, in other news, I should get going... not news at all, is it? LOL. I need to get ready. We're throwing my boyfriend a little BBQ for finally getting the promotion he's deserved for the last 4 months, so I need to look somewhat presentable, although I don't really feel like going in a dress today lol. And I need to study some... tomorrow, thankfully, I don't have class anymore (chem lab, that is) and have the whole day to study for all of my finals on tuesday... Ah, and after that?

Stress free.

I get to focus on work, working out and being healthy, scrapbooking a bit, and I'm looking into volunteering somewhere in the meantime as well... I want to put my extra time to good use when I'm not at the beach or partying :)

Have a good day wherever you are, and DON'T STEAL.

God will smite you.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Future

So, I don't know what it is about today that makes me feel so ready to move on with the next phase in my life, but I'm in one of those moods. I'm in one of those moods to go out and explore the world with my loved one, to buy my own place (or rent) and decorate it and call it my own, doing anything I like to it. I want to go out at whatever time I feel like it and not come home if I don't want to or find a better place to stay at. I want to blare music from my TV and dance around naked just because I can. I want to flip to Food Network and try out a new recipe as its being made while cooking from the comfort of my own kitchen, with my own food, my own cutlery, and my own guinea pig (a.k.a. husband) to try it on when he gets home (that is, if I don't eat it first myself because I make it so deliciously well!). I want to go to the pound and save a puppy from being put to sleep, give it a home, food and shelter and unconditional love, and watch it grow and wag its tail and stick out its tongue on desperation when I get home to give me kisses.

I'm just ready.

I feel so trapped here sometimes... like I've reached the end of a chapter and want to turn the page but the next one is glued and wont come off... I want to unglue it, I want to delve into new things already... I think I'm tired of the old. I'm tired of answering to my parents, of having to do this and that and try to please their every demand yet they're never happy enough with me to let any issue go. There's always something that I do wrong, no matter how hard i try. So I feel like letting go and doing things for me... for my own heart... for my boyfriends heart whom I value so much... For those who don't have a place and a family and would give anything to have one and wouldn't bicker about stupid things and complain about money when they have so much of it and are just being selfish...

Ugh.

So frustrating.

I hope that I set sail on my new path soon... For now, I have 3 finals to study for next Tuesday and a shift that I've just picked up for tomorrow morning so I can earn some extra money, but... I wish the future would come.

I need it.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Another Lovely Day

Well, I most definitely got lazy yesterday. Let's just say that instead of doing my forensics review and keeping up with my things, I picked up my room (sort of), organized my papers (because they were all over the place), and decided to hop into bed at 5:30pm for a nap until 7:30...

Best. Nap. Ever.

I didn't realize I was so tired, and when I woke up, felt like I had tons of energy. I managed to actually keep some kind of word to myself and head to the gym with my boyfriend later at night... my muscles hurt, but not as bad as I expected them to. I'm surprisingly not in too much pain today, unless I'm climbing the stairs or something of that nature.

I actually finished my forensics study guide for myself today (which consisted of doing all 3 of my exams over, this time finding the right answers) and jotting down a couple of things. Now all I have left to do is begin my chemistry exam study guide and review my anatomy notes / re-copy them and finish reading the chapter (I like to look at the diagrams to know what arteries/veins are being talked about because there's a million). I'm in a little dilemma about whether to take my anatomy lab final exam... it's optional, but I need a 95 to hop up to a B in the class, and if I take it, whether I get a good/bad grade, it gets stuck. So if I do horribly, it's going to lower by grade to a D and I'll be failing and my nursing entrance can be kissed goodbye. As it is, I'm devastated that I got a C in the class, but at least I am passing. And the A that I will be receiving in the lecture portion (which counts three times as much as the lab) should offset it a bit. Still, I'm not proud of it.

Anywho, I better get hopping on my chemistry stuff. I don't want to... i've been studying for the last 3 hours already as it is and just took a short break to transfer to the tables outside (inside is freezing!) and eat a healthy lunch... whole wheat bread with chicken, tomatoes and mozarella (the only fattening ingredient I allowed myself, since mayo is usually the stuff I love to pile on). I even skipped the baked lays, so go me!! Hopefully my fat body content lowers quickly with my improved diet and working out.

Have a good day wherever you are, and hopefully you're not going through my torturous finals week!

Namaste.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Soooooo..

I am feeling extremely lazy.

I managed to finish my anatomy notes yesterday, make it to anatomy class today after work, and then ended up going to see my boyfriend and now all I want to do is sleep. Even though, I have on my to do list:

1. Create a forensics study guide

2. Review posts on BB for online WOH class

3. Create a review for my boyfriends math exam next week

4. Get dressed to go to the gym

5. Clean my room

6. Pick up my room and put away the laundry

7. Start on my chemistry study guide if time allows.

Umm... to be sure, I really don't want to do any of those things. I'd like to get back into bed with my boyfriend, watch youtube videos and go to sleep right after. But since that's not possibleeeee...

I suppose I'll turn to my novel for a bit, read a little bit, and then attend to my duties. By which time I'll probably only get through the first of my duties before i have to get dressed to go to the gym with my boyfriend. I'm making a commitment to myself to get in shape this summer.. I'm starting to get flabby.

Not good news.

See you later!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Taking time for moi!

Hello everyone,

I finally finished my chemistry exam today. It was easier than I thought it would be, and nice to know that I probably got a B on it (gotta wait for the results). I now have to look forward to all of my finals on Tuesday basically, with my anatomy lab final Wends and another Anatomy final on Thursday... I'm hoping to cover a shift thursday since my final will be early in the morning, but lets see...

On the other hand, I decided to give some time to myself. I put a load in the laundry and am about to settle down with The Time Traveler's Wife. I bought it in Boston's airport while waiting for my flight back home, along with another book (The Tourist) which I'm looking forward to reading on my leisure time whenever I have time this summer.

Which should be lots.

The only two things I'm planning on doing are working as much as possible (I need to save money and pay off my credit card) and working out... I need to take care of my body more. I've been slacking off since I cut my membership at the gym and barely run after school because of the amount of studying required for my finals right now. So even if I don't get to go to the gym (I'm hoping my boyfriend will lend me his membership during the day if he can't go with me at night) and I can go on my own and do some biking / running / lower body workouts.

Oh, and of course I'm going to help my boyfriend with his summer classes... I know that I say I'm tired of school right now and don't want to know anything about books, but I can guarantee you that two weeks will pass by and I'll be bored out of my mind, reviewing my anatomy book and notes and setting up study guides for my bf's classes. So i'm sure I'll enjoy helping him :)

Anyway, I'm gonna get to my book. I have to copy down anatomy notes afterwards, so I better hop to it.

Namaste!!

Monday, April 12, 2010

Back from the city I belong in!





Hey everyone!

Quick update, since I'm rushing out the door to get to my chemistry lab final and it's in BFE... Don't I wish I were still in Boston where I can get to anything in 10 minutes lol. Anywho, I had an AMAZING time over there with my boyfriend. I'm so very excited about the future (we talked about a couple of things) and I'm very excited to be going on more trips with him like that one. We had a blast, barely any arguments at all (I think we only had one actually, and that's 'cause I was already getting emotional with my monthly friend lol) and had a fantastic time seeing the city, exploring everything together... I really want to move there, at least for a bit. But we'll see where life takes me. For now I'm stuck here in Miami, but I have plenty to look forward to, and plenty to do at the moment!! I left you with some picture up above.. enjoy!

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Boston in 2 days!!!

ANDDDDD

Dun dun dun!!!

I just finished my obnoxiously long essay!! HOORAY FOR NOT HAVING TO WORRY ABOUT HOMEWORK OVER THE WEEKEND!! :)

I'm going to start my chemistry review in a bit for my exam on tuesday and finish the quiz that's due tomorrow, but I feel so accomplished!! I've basically got everything down for next week's exams and just need to review (with the exception of chemistry that needs some MAJOR reviewing). That essay was the one holding me back the most but now it's out of the way and done! 2000 words complete with 35 citations and 15 images to support. I swear, teachers just don't know what to do with themselves anymore... since when is my explanation not enough? What if another person's facts are wrong? Yeah, that's right!! I MIGHT BE SMARTER!!

Okay, let me calm down...

So yes. Today I got a manicure (red for good luck!) and my eyebrows waxed (thank goodness, I was starting to look like Godzilla) and tomorrow I am getting my hair cut and straightened, all in preparation for my trip to Boston so I can look gorgeous for my boo! :) I'm also going to pass by the mall after studying for some time so I can pick up some shower gel to take (I hate using hotels shower gels, they never smell good) and a pair of sunglasses since I don't have any, and possibly a pair of very cute underwear to wear so I can look ultra cute :)

For some reason, that sounded horribly blonde, but anyway, yes, lol.

And I also made a gyno appointment, which I've been needing to do for a while but just wasn't getting around the finding a new doctor. My mom took me about 2 years ago to get a pap smear done and it was with an old man, and needless to say, I was EXTREMELY uncomfortable in that room with him looking at my special stuff when I'm so young. But whatever, everything was fine and I didn't want to go back so I've been postponing it... but me and future hubby are very careless in our endeavors, and I don't want to wind up pregnant before I'm married, so I'm going to go ask her about birth control. I honestly don't want to get back on it... I was on it for about a year and a half when I was 16/17 and when I got off was so irregular in my periods and I know I didn't ovulate for a couple of months.... imagine if I get on it again for the next 2 years until we get married, it's going to take me FOREVER to get back into my cycle, and I'm scared that it will mess with my ability to have children later, and I don't want that to happen. My family has a history of having a hard time getting pregnant on the women's side: I don't need any more tough hurdles to climb over, thank you.

So, we'll see about that...

Any way, I should get off and get started on chemistry. I need to pack at some point tomorrow before me and my boyfriend go to a friend's dinner... I don't know how I'm going to squeeze in so many things. Ugh!! So annoying...

Byeee :)

Monday, April 5, 2010

Blah.



^Random duck picture... I felt like being random, lol!


I feel so unbelievable lazy today!!

I have a couple of things to get done...

1. Go to chem lab (which I REALLY REALLY don't want to go to... there goes 1/4 of my gas tank and an hour of my life wasted in driving).

2. Finish my anatomy notes

3. Study for my anatomy exam tomorrow at 6:15am

4. Do my chem assignments online

5. Finish an essay


Needless to say, I need all the time in the world, but I just feel horribly lazy... all I want to do is go to the spa and get a manicure, pedicure and my hair done... with a scalp massage thrown in there. Ahhh... that'd be so relaxing.

But I seriously need to focus and get everything I need to get done this week so I can leave for Boston on Friday (YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY) and not be worrying about any homework or anything. Thankfully this is my last chemistry lab before my final next week, which you barely need to study for, so I won't need to be going all the way to B.F.E. for that freaking class anymore... hooray saves gas and time!!

I guess I should go shower... pretend I'm in the spa in there... at least I'll have the ability to crank up an obnoxiously loud song and sing at the top of my lungs without getting removed from the premises, hahahahaha.

I amuse myself.

Funny mental image.

Okay, bye!!

:)

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Happy Easter!!

And happy birthday to my dad as well!

I made him a card late last night when I got home and put that he was turning 51, because I swear on my life, last year we threw his 50th birthday... apparently not. He was turning 52, and man did I feel embarrassed, but he said he didn't mind because I shed a year off of him LOL. So I guess everything worked out for the better.

I spent a lovely day with my grandmother yesterday... well, let me start by saying that I woke up at almost 2pm and I was completely astonished... I felt like the day had just flown over me... but then again, I got home at 2 in the morning Friday night after going out to dinner with my boyfriend and a couple who are really good friends of ours, so go figure. My poor baby had to work early the next morning and was exhausted yesterday when he got home, but wanted me to go over anyway, so I went and did some errands with my grandmother (she wanted to go visit a friend of hers and since she had the surgery she can't be driving just yet, so I offered to take her) and then had lunch with her (thank goodness she finally ate!) and brought her home. My parents had left to pick up their extremely extensive custom made Harley bike, of which I had to pretend to love today (I'll elaborate in a bit) so she was home alone, but at least I took her out and she wanted to be home with the dog anyway.

So yes, I went to his house and spent a lovely time :) I thought I wasn't going to see him yesterday since he had to work and then wanted to study afterwards, but I ended up staying and creating a review for him... he napped for a bit on top of me (I have a hilarious picture, and although I don't think he knows about this blog and nobody else does either, I'll keep it to myself out of respect for him and his un-shirt-ness, LOL).... where was I going with this? Oh yes, he napped on top of me, which I thought was so cute, and I worked on some notes for anatomy (my exam is this tuesday) and then eventually woke him up so he could shower and work on the review. His friend was supposed to come over to help him study, but never showed, so I stayed and somehow we ended up BBQing on his new barbeque and inviting our couple friends over again and then playing cards after a very late dinner.

It was a lot of fun, with lots of laughs. I think that is exactly how our weekends are going to look when we're married... always entertaining at the house. I'm not like my parents who keep solitary, and neither is he, so I'm sure we'll be inviting people over 24/7 and having parties at our house (this of course before having any kids, LOL. The kid parties will be a whole different story)... So yep, a very nice night indeed, although the pick up was atrocious. Good gracious, I've never seen so much grease and had so many plates to wash... but it's okay 'cause I was with the love of my life (corny, I know, but I'm allowed to express myself in my own blog okay!).

Anywho, today was easter and my dad's birthday... my boyfriend had to get up early once again to go to work and then had to finish seasoning the steaks and come over to BBQ once again for my dad's birthday dinner. Needless to say, I felt horrible asking him to work when he had been at work for almost 8 hours already, but like an amazing man, he wanted to and came and didn't complain once... then again, he passed out on my lap on the couch shortly after dinner and I just finished nudging him out the door to his bed at home. I can't tell you how much I enjoy people falling asleep on me... I don't know why, but it's a peaceful and very calming experience, and especially when it's my boyfriend... I loved to just watch his face... he looked so relax. I'm excited for us to go to Boston this Friday (hooray!! it's finally here!!) and just relax. I told him we'll be sleeping in during the mornings... I don't plan on getting up early during my vacation, however short it is!! Plus, there's not much that I want to see per say, just want to explore the city with time :)

It was nice to have the whole family together today... my sister, her boyfriend, her gma, my gma, my parents and my boyfriend... nice to share a good meal, home cooked, and some laughs, even if it is at my expense. Somehow I always get made fun of, but I have to say, I laugh at myself too.

We're still looking at dogs to adopt... I wanted to have gotten one for my dad by today, but it didn't happen... We'll see, maybe next weekend or the one after? I have no clue.

I should get to bed. I start work once again early in the morning tomorrow, then school, and then a major workout!! I'm gaining weight and not liking it, and I need to look good by Friday for Boston... I don't plan on looking bad when I get to be with my boyfriend at night, LOL.

Enjoy your night.

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Happy

Hey everyone,

So I'm writing to you from my bf's bed... he's currently passed out and snoring next to me, lol. So cute. I, of course, am on the never ending battle to do homework and re-write notes in prep for my final exams... the good part is that I only have a couple of weeks left (about 3) and then I'm home free into summer... I'll be working, but at least I won't have to worry about what muscles are used in peeing, LOL.

I've had a lovely week.. an extraordinary one, actually. I'm very happy with everything that's going on and couldn't ask for more... perhaps maybe that my dog gets better than what he already is, and that my parents stop being so.. non-parenting.

Speaking about that, I'm going to have a talk with my father about it all tonight... let's see how that goes. And tomorrow is his birthday so we're doing a BBQ at my house, of which hopefully my mother doesn't screw up with her rude comments. My boyfriend and my sisters boyfriend are probably coming, so... we'll see. Hopefully everything goes well.

Random thought, but I can't believe I'll be making 3 years with my boyfriend this October... how crazy.

Any way, i should get back to studying. Anatomy exam next week... blah.

Have fun wherever you are since it's Saturday! PACHANGA! :)

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Naps are heaven sent


They really are. I don't know how people survive without them... I heard over in Europe they all go home and take an hour nap from 12 to 2 and then go back to work... if that rumor is true, then good gracious, I'm moving ASAP.

So yesterday was pretty uneventful... I managed to survive through my anatomy lab exam and I believe I did great!! I'm stoked to find out my grade... I really hope that everything went well and I got an A. I desperately need it in that class. Let's see.

Oh wait, I just realized I blogged yesterday from sbux while I was studying, hahaha. Let me cut to the chase then.

I went to study with my boyfriends sister at the house, of which that exam I took today and I think I got an A there as well (hooray for end of semester being around the corner!) and my mom texted me not to come home late. Now, my relationship with my mom has never been good... we've always fought and had our (very) large differences, and seeing eye to eye was always a negotiation rather than a given. For the past month, I've been withstanding her crap (for lack of a better word) about my relationship, about how I handle my money, and about how she has to pay for Nursing school.

This is what pisses me off: my parents do not appreciate the daughter that they have.

Let me start by the first thing she's been bitching: 1. My relationship. She has no business getting into it. I think that I have taken her advice, acknowledged her position, and given her all the respect in the world when it comes to what she thinks. She is my mother, so I should be listening to her because she has more experience (she was divorced before she married my dad) and because... well, she's my mom. But I am also my own person and human being, and my life is not lived by anyone else. However much influence she does and should have over me, nobody lives my life but me.

That means I make my own decisions and I decide what gets done in my life, and my decisions are MINE and only mine. So I told her, very respectfully, that because i've been so concerned with pleasing her and my family, things got rocky in my relationship and I am no longer going to do that. I realized that my relationship became a negotiation between how much time we were spending with my family versus his family, and we're not even married!! Those are the kinds of things you decide when you get married and visit your parents every other weekend, we're still dating!! Fine, we've been together almost 3 years and things are more serious, but a relationship is between TWO PEOPLE, not the entire family. I got tired of trying to please her and told her that from now on, when he comes over, he comes over, and when I go over, I go over. But more than anything, we're going to focus on EACH OTHER, the way it should be. Until I have a ring on my finger and say "I do", I'm not going to be pressuring myself and stressing myself out about who's house I'm at and how much time have I spent with which family because if not they're going to be mad... no no no. I ended up (and he ended up) losing track of what was most important: our love. So we're focusing on that and getting back to being in love and very happy with each other. We'll worry about things as they come. We don't live in the past or the future, we live in the present, and should live life so.

On the second thing that she's been bitching about (my money), I told her the same thing... I work for it, therefore I will decide how it will get used. If I want to blow it all on candy bars, thats my problem. I'll deal with my consequences later when I get fat and don't have anything to be going out. But no, she insists that I should be saving my money and doing this with it and why doesn't my boyfriend pay for everything and pick me up and all this shit... leave me alone! I hate people who try to control my life... I really do. I got many of her traits when I was younger, and then I grew up, realized I was using the exact traits I hated about her on my friends and loved ones and changed my attitude. Now everything is dandy with myself, but she continues to be who she is, and I realize that won't change much because she's older and thats her personality... unless she truly wanted to, I'm stuck dealing with her that way forever, and that's fine. I'm her daughter, I should learn how to handle situations her way without getting her upset, but I'm also not going to break my back doing them. So I told her to just stop lecturing me and let me live, and when consequences come, I'll learn my lesson, IF IT COMES TO THAT. I'm pretty smart about what I do with my money, and I enjoy everything I do with it, so I don't have a problem with myself just yet. The day I do, I will more than gladly go up to her and apologize and tell her she was right, but until now, she's been wrong and I'm going to continue living my life the way I see fit.

Which leads me to infamous number three... how she complains that she has to pay for nursing school. Oh my God, this is the one that just blows me up most. I busted my ass in high school and got scholarships not only from the government, from Burger King, and from FIU, but i also wake my ass up at 5am to go work for the extra money I use to drive around and spend on my own. In other words, THEY DON'T PAY A THING. I barely eat at home, so they can't say they feed me. The only thing they do pay is my car insurance and the rent on the house, which is cheap even for them... My parents love to complain that they don't have enough money, yet they have two properties, 2 cars, just bought a harley davidson bike, a whole bunch of gear for it (of which it was DEFINITELY not cheap) and other things that are very unncessary. So I told them that they need to help pay for nursing school.

Keyword: HELP.

I cannot work during nursing school because I'll be doing clinicals and going to school... if I worked, there'd be no time for sleep, so I'm going to depend on them. BUT MY SCHOLARSHIP CONTINUES TO COVER MOST OF MY COSTS. The only thing they'll be paying is gas, a monthly stipend to go out (because I'll go crazy if I just study... and of which I've offered to pay them back!) and any extra fees from school that don't end up being covered (there's something about an extra hundred dollars for certain courses that are taught in the hospital). That's a grand total of less than $5000 dollars over the period of a year and a half... $5000 dollars that they HAVE. i've seen my dad's checking account, and it is NOT empty... yet they continue to bitch about how they have to pay when they haven't paid a single thing since I was in 11th grade....

"Oh, but you can't be going out when you're in nursing school... we don't have that kind of money".
"Oh, but you should work lots this summer so you can save up money to have during nursing school and pay for gas".
I asked for a study room in my sisters room (since she doesn't live here) and got "oh, but we don't have enough money...". I asked for it for my birthday present (that's pretty sad, asking for a study room as an early birthday present).. "I don't know, we don't have money.... if we sell the bed yes".

...Yet they turn right around that weekend and treat themselves to brand new leather jackets for their custom made bike they just ordered.

Is anyone getting my picture here?

SELFISH.

So I told her to just forget it, that if she doesn't want to be a parent to me, I'll take out a loan, move out of the house, and find my own way in life and pay things back once I'm a nurse. That it will suck? Yes, most definitely. I'll be in debt when I get married (that's the worst) and I'll have to adhere to a strict payment plan for a good 2 years, but I can do it. Nothing in life is permanent, things can get done and you can move forward. It's just sad that your parents, who are supposed to support you even during high school (I worked during high school while having AP credits and SAT and ACT, that should tell you something about my determination) can't even bother to pay for nursing school and support you for a year when you haven't asked them for anything else in life.

Anyway, I should get going. I'm getting upset about everything I've talked about, and I don't plan on living an upset day. My mood will turn righ around as soon as I finish this 2000 word essay sometime by this weekend though :) OH! And since today is April Fool's, how about I called my mom-in-law and told her I was pregnant, and she FLIPPED. Hhahahahaha... soo funny. I was with my boyfriends sister at the time, we came up with the idea. Super funny. Poor lady almost had a heart attack. I love her.

Well, have a good day wherever you are, and as always God Bless!