Sunday, December 26, 2010

2010

This will probably be the last update I'll make in this blog for this year... unless of course, I get bored again and decide to write away my feelings. Har har.

:)

Anyway, I had a nice trip in Tenn. with the fam, saw snow, froze my ass off, drank some moonshine, and overall had a blast (with the exception of the usual annoyances that accompany most family gatherings). Sure, there were a few spats here and there, but it was a nice experience, especially getting to spend time with my dad. For some reason, unless he's up in the boonies, he's not in a good mood, so I take full advantage when we're not in the middle of the city to sit in silence with him.... That's connecting, in case you're not familiar with my dad's antisocial behavior, lol.

Other than that, I had a nice flight back down and enjoyed a noche buena and Christmas with my family in law and my wonderful boyfriend. I have news on that front.. he asked me to move in with him. I'm not going to lie, my stomach did turns and flipped, and my heart was about to race out of my chest at the thought of being able to go to sleep and wake up with the man I love every day. But at the same time, we both know that we shouldn't rush into something and live on a horrible budget, when we can save up a little money, wait a little more, and move in together down the road on better economic terms. The biggest problem we have right now is that I don't have a job... I quit back in August if you remember, and have been living off a loan I took out with him since then.

I have to say, I manage my finances pretty well. I still have 1k from what I got, which I should've spent by now. So hooray for me!!

But anyway, the point is, I have to see if I can get paid for my research. I applied for the position/paid internship already, and should find out around March whether I got in or not. Hopefully with my good recommendations, and the fact that I maintained my GPA this past semester despite late nights and heart attacks about failing (thank you Lord for your unwavering support), I should get the position. But there's always someone better out there, with a much higher GPA, and that is a problem. My experience and volunteering in the lab for almost a year should also work in my support though, so let's see. That would be $11 an hour to do things that I will gain experience for in my field, which would be the perfect opportunity for me. If not, my next option is beg and plead for a position somewhere on campus, no matter what the pay is. I'll just have to work more hours...

And then as a last resort, waitressing. I know it won't be fun, and I'll be back in the food industry, but at least this time I'll put up with people's bullshit and earn a little more money than I did before.

Our idea is for me to at least earn $400 that I can put towards groceries and bills, and the rest he can take care of. I know my family will be upset (and so will his) about us moving in together without being married, let alone engaged. I had the conversation with him, but what he says also resonates a note in my heart: this is about us, not them. True enough, when you marry, you marry into the family, not just to the person... but first and foremost comes the person. We've been together for over 3 years, going on 4, and I think we're ready for that next step. Besides, it would be good for us to learn to live together and work out little issues before we get married I think... I still have my morals, and I would like to be engaged at least before we move in together... I'm hoping we're heading in that direction if we're heading in the direction of moving in together already, lol.

Other than that, school starts in just 2 weeks, I'm excited for my trip to Chicago with my baby, and excited for the future overall. 2010 was a tough year for me, from radiation for my tumor, to my grandmother's surgery for her cancer, and almost failing my classes... but I got through it for the better, and I'm ready for a prosperous and new year :)

2011, bring me good things!!

:)

Hope you all have a great day.

No comments:

Post a Comment