Friday, December 31, 2010

Hello 2011!!!

Well, the hours are winding down, and there's only about 8 hours left of 2010 for us Americans here... I think it's different for people in Australia, lol!!

I'm very excited to say the least... 2010 had a lot of bad things (I think I wrote about this already, or I'm having intense deja vu) but 2011 I believe will bring in nothing but positive things to my life. And of those that are negative, I'll take them with a grain of salt and throw them over my shoulder and move forward.

Because that's what you have to do.

Move forward.

Wishing you all a prosperous, happy, loving New Year... get wasted, but try to be okay for the first day of 2011!! Hahaha :)

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Bored

What to do?

Continue "War & Peace" by Leo Tolstoy?

Look for possible jobs in case my research paid internship doesn't work out?

Shove Max off the bed because he's shoving me off first?

I'm quite un-entertained at the moment

-.-

Sunday, December 26, 2010

2010

This will probably be the last update I'll make in this blog for this year... unless of course, I get bored again and decide to write away my feelings. Har har.

:)

Anyway, I had a nice trip in Tenn. with the fam, saw snow, froze my ass off, drank some moonshine, and overall had a blast (with the exception of the usual annoyances that accompany most family gatherings). Sure, there were a few spats here and there, but it was a nice experience, especially getting to spend time with my dad. For some reason, unless he's up in the boonies, he's not in a good mood, so I take full advantage when we're not in the middle of the city to sit in silence with him.... That's connecting, in case you're not familiar with my dad's antisocial behavior, lol.

Other than that, I had a nice flight back down and enjoyed a noche buena and Christmas with my family in law and my wonderful boyfriend. I have news on that front.. he asked me to move in with him. I'm not going to lie, my stomach did turns and flipped, and my heart was about to race out of my chest at the thought of being able to go to sleep and wake up with the man I love every day. But at the same time, we both know that we shouldn't rush into something and live on a horrible budget, when we can save up a little money, wait a little more, and move in together down the road on better economic terms. The biggest problem we have right now is that I don't have a job... I quit back in August if you remember, and have been living off a loan I took out with him since then.

I have to say, I manage my finances pretty well. I still have 1k from what I got, which I should've spent by now. So hooray for me!!

But anyway, the point is, I have to see if I can get paid for my research. I applied for the position/paid internship already, and should find out around March whether I got in or not. Hopefully with my good recommendations, and the fact that I maintained my GPA this past semester despite late nights and heart attacks about failing (thank you Lord for your unwavering support), I should get the position. But there's always someone better out there, with a much higher GPA, and that is a problem. My experience and volunteering in the lab for almost a year should also work in my support though, so let's see. That would be $11 an hour to do things that I will gain experience for in my field, which would be the perfect opportunity for me. If not, my next option is beg and plead for a position somewhere on campus, no matter what the pay is. I'll just have to work more hours...

And then as a last resort, waitressing. I know it won't be fun, and I'll be back in the food industry, but at least this time I'll put up with people's bullshit and earn a little more money than I did before.

Our idea is for me to at least earn $400 that I can put towards groceries and bills, and the rest he can take care of. I know my family will be upset (and so will his) about us moving in together without being married, let alone engaged. I had the conversation with him, but what he says also resonates a note in my heart: this is about us, not them. True enough, when you marry, you marry into the family, not just to the person... but first and foremost comes the person. We've been together for over 3 years, going on 4, and I think we're ready for that next step. Besides, it would be good for us to learn to live together and work out little issues before we get married I think... I still have my morals, and I would like to be engaged at least before we move in together... I'm hoping we're heading in that direction if we're heading in the direction of moving in together already, lol.

Other than that, school starts in just 2 weeks, I'm excited for my trip to Chicago with my baby, and excited for the future overall. 2010 was a tough year for me, from radiation for my tumor, to my grandmother's surgery for her cancer, and almost failing my classes... but I got through it for the better, and I'm ready for a prosperous and new year :)

2011, bring me good things!!

:)

Hope you all have a great day.

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Sleep

There is no better sleep than the kind you get with your spouse.

Or in my case, my boyfriend, lol.

Yep, snuck him in last night after he had been here to whole day, and he slept over until 7am that he had to head to work. Don't ask how I did it, but I feel bad deceiving my grandmother.. but man, it feels so good to sleep, all cozy and warm (especially in this cold weather) with the person you love. <3

He was here practically the whole day. Came from work with some ingredients, and me, being sick as a dog, had asked for some soup. So the wonderful person that he is worked in the kitchen after a meeting at work, and made me some home made chicken soup. Really good! I'll be lucky if I marry him... in case I can't cook, we won't be living off of McDonalds, that's for sure!!

I think our dog enjoyed sleeping with him the most though... Max is very attached to his daddy and immediately sat on him, like claiming he was his territory. He's next to me right now on the bed, looking at me and wondering if daddy is coming over tonight... unfortunately, he's not :( But the way I look at it, we'll have plenty of time to sleep with eachother in the future, so I'll have to wait my big butt until then!!

I have everything packed for my Tennessee trip tomorrow, and I'll miss my two babies very much, but I'll be back my Wednesday to my babies.

For now, I'm going to take a nap... I'm going to see Tron Legacy with my friends tonight, so hopefully that will be a good movie and I won't have wasted my time or sleep lol.

:)

Kisses from Miami.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Christmas Break

It has finally arrived.

And with great news: A in my Biology class and labs, and I managed a solid B in my chemistry class! :) I have yet to see what's in my Precalculus, and the verdict for my Physics (a whole fiasco of goings on there), but hopefully it will be for the better.

I've enjoyed my break so far... I've caught up on laundry, cleaned, organized a bit... I'll probably attack my closet tomorrow, and then pack for Tennessee. I leave Friday and will be back on a flight on Wends to spend Christmas with my grandmother and boyfriend.

I've also applied for quite a number of jobs, of which include some writing opportunities.. I'm looking forward to hopefully hear back form those positions, since flexibility is what I need most at the moment. I wouldn't mind writing some articles for little pay, as long as it is some form of income. I need something to supplement my loan, if not a part time job in a clerical setting... but let's see what God has in store for me. I'm desperately wanting to get back into ballet, but the financial issues are daunting.

Let's see.

For now, I'm sick, in bed, with a fever and runny nose.

But not to fear! Max is here!!



My baby <3

Sunday, December 5, 2010

10 hours of chemistry in 2 days...

Can lead to some serious headaches.

But I'm managing... I've gotten through the first 4 chapters, the first exam, and have started on the second one. I'm hoping to start chapter 5 tonight before I go to bed (I'm taking a quick break right now), and then tomorrow finish chapters 5, 6, 7 and 8, and finish the second exam, start on the third... review the first and second with classmates who got different versions... compare, work out the problems, and move forward...

I still haven't touched precalculus, which I need to do asap. Mostly I just need to rework the problems that were assigned on previous exams, which I feel shouldn't be too difficult, but for some reason, that exam is always hard for me. I managed to get a C on the last one... passing... which made my very happy, considering I was struggling in that class. If I can manage a B, i'll be estatic... the class seems to be failing overall, so maybe he will curve. But I can't count on that and need to work as hard as possible to get a good grade in that exam.

Other than that, I'm just looking forward to going to ballet on Wends to de-stress before finals on Thursday, and then I am finally done with the hell of a semester!! AT LAST!! I can just sit in my bathrub, full of hot water, and read my favorite book, undisturbed with thoughts of homework, sine, cosine, titrations, strong acids, etc. etc.

:)

What a relief that will be.

Looking forward to being a lazy bum all winter break. YES!

Friday, December 3, 2010

:)

I woke up quite happy today... I think because I had such a wonderful day yesterday... instead of spending my entire day studying, I went to Starbucks to study in the morning (after washing and drying my dirty comforter... thank you Max!) and was studying, and then my boyfriend surprised me by showing up... He had called to see what time we were going to have lunch, and I told him where I was, and he surprised me :) So then we went to have lunch, went to his house, watched a movie, and then I went to school, found out I passed my precalc exam (thank goodness!) and then back to his house to watch the Heat Game (which we won!!). i think the fact of spending such a wonderful day together, especially when we had missed eachother's company, really helped to liven my spirits.

So to make up for lost time (although wonderfully lost as it was) I woke up early this morning, shower, and out the door to study for my bio lecture final this afternoon. I was a helper, so I have an additional 2 points already, and i don't think I did bad on the exam. I'll say it was the hardest one yet, but as long as I get a B, I'm good for the class. I get an A :)

Now to just finish chemistry extra credit assignments before 6pm... I have an hour and a half to do a couple of questions only, and then cook, finish laundry, and pick up a bit, and I think I'm off to bed. I'm mentally exhausted and need a break... tomorrow starts another day... unfortunately can't be a normal Saturday lol. But on the bright side, I get to go to ballet from 1 to 2:30, and then 3 to 10pm studying in the library at school. I bet it's going to be hella full too, so that'll be fun.

Anyway, let me hop to my assignment. :)

Hope you're having an awesomely blasphemous day... LOL!

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Final Stretch

This semester from hell is almost over...

I'm studying for biology now, which should be another easy A, and that lecture is secured with an A. My labs are also secured with A's. The only thing I have left to really worry about is my chemistry and precalculus finals next Thursday... a week to study for that stuff. Let's hope it does the trick to be with a bunch of friends studying, and to take everyone's tests and mix them together in order to study more efficiently.

I was supposed to go to ballet class today, but once again, financial woes keep me from doing what I love :/ I'm here at my boyfriend's house now, studying for biology and doing the last chapters that I need to complete today, so that tomorrow is all about chemistry extra credit, and reviewing everything for bio before Friday's class... even though I have a nice gap between my PLTL session and my lecture since I no longer have physics lab inbetween :) So if I don't get to reviewing too much tomorrow, that'll be okay.

I'm looking forward to Saturday, as I will definitely be taking my ballet class there. I'm staring at my pointe shoes right now and hoping and praying that by next year, I will be able to wear them and dance beautifully... maybe a nice little in studio production. I always seem to get close to my goal and something else gets in my way, but I would like to dedicate myself this upcoming year. I think I will make that my goal for the year.

Anywho, my little mini break is over, and I should get back to my bio chapters.

On a positive note, the HEAT are winning :)!!!

Love <3