Monday, August 30, 2010

17 credits and 1 week later...

Ah well, I haven't posted since those eager days right before school started, and apparently I've missed a lot from the blogs I've followed... I'll have to catch up on them, but probably not anytime soon. I have way too many things going on in my own life for me to be interested in someone else's life at the moment.

That was summer time.

This is school time. Lol.

But anyway, a quick update on me since I haven't written in some time....

I am currently a week into school, and it has been hectic. I was slammed with homework from day one... already by Chapter 4 in my Biology class (thank god I'm taking it as an easy A because I know the material, otherwise I would have been overwhelmed) and several other assignments spanned out across my lectures and labs.

To say the least, I haven't had time to scratch my ass. I've either been working, helping my boyfriend / spending time with my boyfriend, showering, or, as per the majority of my daily minutes, reading up on class and doing homework, or sitting in a lecture or lab actually doing the work in person and not at home. It's been stressful... if you look at my planner, it is CHOCK FULL of color... from green (school time) to yellow (work time) to purple (study time) to pink (fun time), it just barely has any white space in it.

And I needn't tell you that the pink hardly appears on there.

But I'm managing to keep up with my assignments, and not finding anything toooo difficult. My Physics class is what's worrying me at the moment, especially because it's my first time taking it, and it involves some trig that I need to brush up on... but otherwise, it's not too bad. Biology is a breeze, Chemistry isn't proving too difficult (after the survey class I took last semester for nursing), PreCalc is alright... so everything seems to me managing.

Fortunate for me, I've managed to keep organized, which is why I'm on top of my assignments, even my labs. I'm always a step ahead and have read the material for the lecture that day. It's something that I find very useful... I spend less time with "?" that on my face, and more time with "!" that lol.

But yes... and as for everything else, it's great. Love my boyfriend, love my puppy, occasionally love my family (you know how that is) (I'm just kidding, I love them all the time), and want to quit work more than ever at the moment.... I have no patience for the stupidity of people who don't know the different between nonfat milk and whole milk, and I could honestly use those 15 hours I work to catch up on sleep and to do some extra problems for class... I mean, after all, I am taking 17 credits... But I also need the money. I have to keep a steady payment on that credit card I have, so I suppose I have to suck it up for now.

Unless of course another opportunity pops up, like the one available for the RISE scholars.

Which reminds me, they're having an open forum tomorrow and I'm going to go visit. How exciting!! I hope to get into that program and become a lab assistant... higher pay and more experience in my field?

HELL TO THE YES.

Alright, so let me get back to doing some extra credit for Chemistry (and extra problems for me), and then some flashcards before Bio lecture.

I'll try to update this when time allows me, and boredom pushes me towards it.

See yaaaaa.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Bioterrorism, Diseases, and Love

Hellooooooo.


Been a while since I actually wrote anything down, but I feel like that's how it's going to be really, especially now that school is going to start. I'm not going to have time to do anything, not even enjoy my growing baby boy anymore :( He's 50 pounds already, just reached 5 months 2 days ago. Growing boy.... growing VERY BIG boy. Here he is, just yesterday.



He's my pride and joy, and looovesss to go on car rides, as you can see. I guess I got him used to that though, since I declared him my boyfriend and I's baby, so I would drive him to my boyfriend at least once a week, usually twice. He never leaves my side (he's sleeping next to my bed at the moment and just finished "showering" with me) and begs to be taken when I leave the house... I try to oblige, but not when I go to work or have other things to do. He usually tags along though, for the trivial things like picking up some food for lunch or taking someone somewhere.

Anyway, school starts in 2 weeks. I'm extremely excited, yet very nervous. I've already pressured myself into getting straight A's or if not, I'm going to kill myself LOL. I'm nervous because I feel like this is something I really want to pursue, really want to do, and I need to get excellent grades if I have any hopes of continuing on. I'm hoping to assist a professor in their lab research this fall... I have an interview with the professor this Friday, to help and volunteer in her lab in the research process for cystic fibrosis. I'm hoping that this will help put me ahead of most other biology majors looking to pursue internships next summer, and in addition, give me a solid background to work off of on my resume when I apply to the job in the CDC once I graduate. I will hopefully be in the RISE program and be paid to assist in the laboratory next fall for a year, until my graduation.... of course, if everything goes according to plan.

Everything depends on those grades.

And then, on the other hand, I have my personal life creeping up on me. Incredible that I will be 20 in just 1 short month... I had my life all set up and planned to get married around 21/22, start having kids at 24, close the factory at 29... and I feel like life is just flying me by. Just 2 years ago, it seemed distant, and now it's looming ahead like an oncoming train with no intentions of stopping for anyone. I've discussed with my boyfriend about getting married and we have a plan... of course, getting married after receiving our Bachelor's, although I feel that we might get married before he finishes his. Unfortunately (and fortunately), he's a store manager, and works 40+ hours a week, so he has to go to school part time. I'm proud of him for being so diligent and to continue forward even when hardships have come his way, and he is a source of inspiration for me there.... to continue on through the battle, knowing that the war is yet to be won.

So... perhaps getting married in about 2 years, although he should pop the question soon? If I'm not mistaken, you're supposed to be engaged about a year in order to have enough preparation to plan everything.. we'll see, I guess, lol. I'm very excited to see what he does... despite all the arguments we might have and differences, I love him with all my heart and soul, and would never switch him for anyone else nor change anything about him.... ok, maybe his stubbornness at times, LOL.

But yes... and then there's the whole question about if I get the job in Atlanta, Georgia... are we going to move up together? Even if we're not married by then? Should I go to grad school first in Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. ? (which btw, has one of the most UNIQUE programs on bioterrorism and emerging infectious diseases as a masters program.... CAN YOU SAY EXCITED?!?!). Or should I work for a year and then go to grad school, hoping to find a job in D.C. with the government??? I'm not sure exactly where I'll end up, but I know the future holds many things in store, and I'm very excited for it... especially for the part where I get paid 81k straight out of school! :)

So... lots of things to think about. But as ever the important reminder, the present is what's here, not the future. So I'm going to make the best of it, strive for perfection, love all I can, and wait for the future with open arms.

:)

see you aoon.

Saturday, August 7, 2010

If You Forget Me

I found this poem and am in love with it... enjoy.





If You Forget Me


I want you to know
one thing.

You know how this is:
if I look
at the crystal moon, at the red branch
of the slow autumn at my window,
if I touch
near the fire
the impalpable ash
or the wrinkled body of the log,
everything carries me to you,
as if everything that exists,
aromas, light, metals,
were little boats
that sail
toward those isles of yours that wait for me.

Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little.

If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you.

If you think it long and mad,
the wind of banners
that passes through my life,
and you decide
to leave me at the shore
of the heart where I have roots,
remember
that on that day,
at that hour,
I shall lift my arms
and my roots will set off
to seek another land.

But
if each day,
each hour,
you feel that you are destined for me
with implacable sweetness,
if each day a flower
climbs up to your lips to seek me,
ah my love, ah my own,
in me all that fire is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,
and as long as you live it will be in your arms
without leaving mine.

Pablo Neruda

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Commence Hell :)

Helloooo.

Wow, been a while since I posted.

Wellll... I'm back from my vacation finally (and sadly). I arrived on Thursday (it's currently Sunday) and I couldn't have had a better time... except for maybe some avoided fights and some awkward moments, but what can you do? It's human nature to quarrel. Either way, i really enjoyed my time sipping drinks, getting drunk, eating like a pig at buffets (and like a proper young lady at the gourmet restaurants at night), tanning, the beach and the pool, the amazingly nice people, and the excursions that we went on. I went swimming with the dolphins, something I highly recommend and loved and would do again. I also went horseback riding on the beach, which I've been wanting to do for quite some time... and it was nice because I got to go as fast as I wanted, so I cantered (not full galloped lol) on the beach next to the amazingly blue ocean, and I couldn't have felt more at home. I also went on this weird underwater thing that they put an oxygen mask on your head (sort of) and you go down to the base of the sea (not too far, maybe 20 feet) and walk the ocean floor... that was great. I wish I could do it all the time... I felt like the mermaid I should have been born as, lol.

So I definitely got to enjoy my favorite place in the world... the ocean. And I also got to enjoy time with my boyfriend and his family... we had our differences, but more often than not, were back to being absolutely romantic with each other and like we were first dating again (except we slept in the same bed at night lol!). It really was lovely... and it was even lovelier when he texted me the night we got back and told me he missed me and his bed was empty (go ahead and call me sappy, but it makes me happy to know he misses me just as much as I was missing him).

School is around the corner... I already signed up for my classes, and this semester, as well as next spring, are going to be absolute HELL for me.... but if I bust my ass for the next 9 months, I'm going to enjoy a much smoother last year of college to finish getting my BA in Biology and then see where I go from there. Here's my schedule for Fall:

Monday:
8am to 8pm I'll be in school... yes... a whole 12 FREAKING HOURS. I have max 2 hour breaks inbetween, but usually only an hour break inbetween my lectures and my labs.

Tuesday:
I'll be working anywhere from 4:30am to 3pm, and then I have class from 6:25 to 8:15.

Wends:
11am to 8pm in school... another hectic day, but at least I can sleep a bit more...

Thursday:
Same as Tuesday

Fri:
Same as Wends, except I get out at 5pm instead of 8pm...

And keep in mind that me and my boyfriend are beginning a workout regime, so I'll be hitting the gym from 9pm to 10pm Monday through Thursday nights... so FML. I'll be in shape, but I'm going to be exhausted... especially Monday's since my day begins at 7am (to get up and get ready) and doesn't end until 10pm at the gym... (and even then, I have to come home, shower, and study if possible).

Soo... it might be hectic, but I'm actually looking forward to school. It's not going to be easy... I'll be taking Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Pre-Calculus... but I am confident that I can pull through. And if I can get excellent grades this semester, I'll be sure to ace Spring semester, since it's the same classes, just the second half (and harder) version of the ones I'll be taking now, with the exception of Pre-Calc, in which I'll be entering Calc 1.

So there's an update of my life... unfortunately I'm still working at the Bux, and will be for a long time until I manage to get my job as a research lab assistant I suppose... but at least it's a job, even if I do have to wake my ass up at 4am to go serve coffee.... stupid corporate America and their early times.

-.-

Well, I'm going to go play with my baby... he's grown so big! 4 months, 40 pounds, and growing!! He's a Great Dane mixed with Lab, so he'll be a big boy!!

:)

Have fun, whatever youre doing in the world.

<3